Sustainability Webinar | Sustainable Insect Farming: Feed the Future – 3 May 2022, 17:00 (CEST)

Welcome from the Chair

9th Sustainability Webinar

Sustainable Insect Farming: Feed the Future

The utilization of insects for food and feed has been long regarded as a viable sustainable option over the use of traditional food and feed sources. Nevertheless, this sector has been remarkably developed during the recent years, especially after 2017, when the EU authorized the inclusion of certain insect species in aquafeeds, while four years later, insects were authorized as feed ingredients for poultry and swine, and also for human consumption.

Apparently, these developments notably increased the scientific activities towards this direction, but, most importantly, has caused a remarkable increase in the establishment of an insect production industry, in several parts of the world. Currently, there are hundreds of companies that produce insects of insect- related substances, that have been commercialized and adopted for an extremely large variety of uses, that go far beyond feed and food. This industry is expected to grow further in the next few years, providing several insect-related products. Nevertheless, the utilization of insects for this purpose needs to be further investigated on the basis of its cost-effectiveness, but also for its effects on animal growth and food safety and security.

This webinar aims in providing some of the latest developments in the utilization of insects for food and feed, underlining their sustainability potential not only for food and feed, but also for their use in agriculture and waste management.

Date: 3 May 2022

Time: 5:00 pm CEST | 11:00 am EDT | 11:00 pm CST Asia

Webinar ID: 844 1565 9442

Webinar Secretariat: sustainability.webinar@mdpi.com

Sciforum